12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Ten!

23 Dec

Alright, it’s December 23.  What the hell do you do if it’s Sunday December 23 and your significant other isnt with you (yet), you don’t have any kids, and you’ve already finished all your shopping/present acquiring?  If Double S was here I’d see if she wanted to go catch an afternoon showing of This is 40 or something, but she’s not.  I’ll think I’ll relax, catch some football (when in Rome, and hey!  The Rams weren’t terrible this year), and maybe drink some of these puppies.

coffeestout[1]

Ad some of these.

8% ABV!

8% ABV!

After that I’ll probably have to take a nap.  Maybe curl up with Around My French Table, our Cook the Books Challenge cookbook for January.  I made my way through the appetizers section yesterday.  I’m getting a lot of ideas.  Check it out and join us if you want to cook along and have some fun in 2013!

Today’s a good day for “Let Me Sleep It’ Christmas Time,”  a 1991 Pearl Jam b-side.

I love that song.  It’s kind of fitting for yesterday’s post too, I think.

I guess I could whip up more cookies. You know the easiest Xmas treat in the world to throw together, either to eat with your friends in your pjs in front of the tube today, or to take to some kinda soiree?  Christmas wreaths!  Which are basically an xmas rice krispie treat made with corn flakes instead of rice krispies.  Ooh, these things are popular. My family makes them every year and they disappear quick, cuz who in the effing world doesn’t like rice krispie treats?

This is about all you need to make them:

photo[1]

Here’s how to make ‘em!

Like a couple of baking sheets with parchment paper or wax paper.

Melt one stick of butter in a saucepan on medium heat.

Add about 50 regular (not mini) sized marshmallows and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and let it melt over the heat with the butter.

photo[1]

After they’ve melted, add about 1 tsp green food coloring to make them festive.  Keep them on the heat, stirring pretty constantly.  Skip this step for a more natural color scheme, think brown paper grocery bag.  Wait?  Is food coloring bad for you?  Answer: Yes!  Apparently it contains petroleum, acetone, and coal tar.  Well, I added it to mine when I made these the other day and I’m still alive, so make your own decisions.

photo[1]

And, yes, I said I already made these!

made_you_a_cookie_eated_it[1]

Now you’re all like:

lol-cat-you-eat-my-cookie[1]

And I’m all like, come on!  I’m telling you how to make them!  What more do you want from me?

Ahem, moving on.  Add 3 1/2 cups corn flakes.  Stir them in gently but thoroughly.

photo[1]

photo[1]

After you’ve stirred in the corn flakes gently,  spoon the mixture onto the trays in 1 TBSP piles.

Coat your hands with butter or cooking spray.  Shape the mounds (heh heh) into festive wreath shapes.  The mixture will be hot so watch out.

photo[1]

Add cinnamon red hots, red sprinkles or some other decoration for a holly berry or otherwise xmas fun effect.

photo[2]

Chill.  Then let the tray cool in the fridge for awhile.  See what I did there?  Nice.

Enjoy!

3 Responses to “12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Ten!”

  1. narf77 January 12, 2013 at 12:31 PM #

    I am SO scared of those cookies! They look like a hybridisation between kellogs and alien technology! I LOVE them!

    • ohbriggsy January 12, 2013 at 8:19 PM #

      Hey, thanks! They taste great! Omit the food coloring for a more natural look!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Eleven! « oh, briggsy… - December 24, 2012

    [...] with the extended ohbriggsy family.  I already told you about our dips.  There will also be wreaths and other desserts.  There will be a ham.  And there will be bourbon slush!  Have you had [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

