12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day 12!

31 Dec

OK, yeah, I’m still doing the 12 days of Xmas.  What of it?  I didn’t do the 12 days of xmas all traditional like.  No french hens or leaping lords, just random days of xmas music, posted when I had the feeling.  You probably thought I would have dropped this whole thing after day 11 on Xmas eve.  Come on, friends, why do you think so lowly of me?

PartyLolcat

And this has not been a traditional xmas for us here at ohbriggsy either.  I went to visit the fam’ before xmas, then got back and worked during the week that I had always heretofore said it was anathema to work.  Christmas week!  Do not work on Xmas week!  Well, sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do, dear readers.  But now, it is New Year’s Eve and I will be reveling further with Double S.  New Years Eve has always been our traditional big holiday.  Probably because when we first met it in early October of many moons ago (read: 2005), it would have been weird to celebrate xmas together.  Too Soon, everyone would have said!  Them’s the holiday dating rules, folks.  I don’t make them, but I do mindlessly follow them!  So when we both got back to NYC in late December 2005, we celebrated on New Years Eve.  It involved tents being pitched indoors, the NY/MA/CT border, homemade spanakopita, sleeping bags, childhood home sewn dolls, Double S falling asleep before 9pm then re-invigorating, and lots of presents.  This year we’re continuing the tradition, but we’re also really mixing it up.  More about that later.

lolcat2

I hope you have a fun New Year’s Eve planned.  Do you have a playlist made?  You gotta make a playlist!  I always like to add a New Year’s Eye typea song at the end of my xmas mixtapes.  This year I added two.

The first song is one I love, “New Year’s Resolution,” from Otis Redding and Carla Thomas.

This one came from their joint 1967 release, King & Queen.

100282256-1

I just discovered Carla Thomas a few years back.  Check out her song “Gee Whiz, It’s Christmas,” truly one of my favorite xmas songs.

So, New Year’s resolutions.  What’s up with them, amirite?  Regardless, I have some!

I have some I know I’ll do, like read and cook from a lot of new cookbooks in 2013.  And tell you about it!  You’ve heard, right?  Join us!

IMG_0772

Oh, I want to make a lightbox for my food photos, finally.  No more pictures of food that look like they were taken in a badly lit pron den!  And I want to try to make my own butcherblock cutting board.  And I want to learn to smoke meat!  I’m really gonna try to do these!

I run!  I want to keep doing that!  How else would I watch The Mindy Project and Jimmy Fallon if it weren’t for my treadmill running?

For some reason, I’d love to learn chainsaw carving.  But I don’t have a chainsaw or ready access to wood, soooooooooo…that probably won’t be happening.  But if I made one for my yard it’d totally be a bear that I’d put Hawaiaan shirts and sunglasses on in the summer, and a scarf and santa’s cap in the winter.  I’d call him Norman and everything would be different, okay?

Come on, you have to admit that this is awesome.  I think Double S will be fine with having this bad boy set up shop on our deck.

Come on, you have to admit that this is awesome. I think Double S will be fine with having this bad boy set up shop on our deck.

I know it makes me sound like a lazy idiot, but I usually have teevee resolutions as well.  Shows I need to watch to be…nay, STAY! cool, but have been putting off.  I’m looking at you Battlestar Gallactica and The Sopranos, the rest of Girls and season two of Game of Thrones.  Wait, Battlestar Gallactica?  What exactly is my definition of cool? I do know that the following skit starts off as a pretty good replication of a Friday night here at the homestead.

And yeah, The Sopranos is a pretty large hole in my teevee resume.  I know.

OK, so it IS New Year’s Eve and I gots to go.  But I can’t quit you without giving you a good version of “Auld Lang Syne.”  Some people just have to listen to “Auld Lang Syne” on New Year’s, and I’m one of them, so check out this version by Joel Rakes.  Dude has come out with a lot of xmas songs on his website, all downloadable for free.  Here’s his version from this year.

Ok, friends, it’s been real and it’s been fun.  Has it been really fun?  I’ll leave that up to you to answer.  See you in 2013 with cookbooks and teevee talk and maybe some more forgotten songs (by popular demand) and definitely probably more pictures of animals wearing wacky clothes and/or with funny captions.  Happy New Year!

New Year’s Resolution…Otis Redding & Carla Thomas

Auld Lang Syne (Happy)…Joel Rakes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

