Don’t Tell Me the Lights Are Shining Any Place But There

29 Jan

Don Draper! St. Louis! Prepare to be kicked in the face…by handsomeness! And St. Louis pride…

I haven’t lived in St. Louis for quite awhile now, but the pride remains, so when I discovered this little gem over the holidays during my time in the ‘Lou, I had to share. No one in my family really cared who he was, but Double S and I squealed in delight when that annoying game finally took a break and we got to see Don. Not that I don’t like sports…go Cards! After listening to my mom wonder aloud why anyone would like Mad Men what with all of its rampant smoking and womanizing (but she sure loves her some Dexter!), I finally got a good look at the commercial. Then I watched it again online. Then I missed Mad Men some more.

Jon Hamm is the man! Dude is handsome, proud of his hometown of St. Louis (Jon and I do it so you don’t have to), and a pretty fine little actor. Speaking of, how about a shot of Jon Hamm and Jenna Fischer, Pam from teevee’s The Office (which is NOT having it’s best season this year, but that’s actually not saying that much) at the 2009 All Star Game in St. Louis? Sure!

That's a lot of purty!

Jenna went to high school in Webster Groves, where yours truly whiled away their childhood skipping rocks and eating penny candy at the local Ben Franklin. OK, the Ben Franklin part is true. Not the skipping rocks part. How about blowing on Nintendo cartridges?

Postscript: I finally saw Up in the Air last night. I cheered (in an inside voice) as I listened to Clooney extol the values of Lambert airport, about halfway through the movie. Look, that’s Lambert behind the Cloonster!

7 Responses to “Don’t Tell Me the Lights Are Shining Any Place But There”

  1. Halpin February 1, 2010 at 7:31 AM #

    Sweet blog, dude.

    • ohbriggsy February 1, 2010 at 8:52 AM #

      thanks, man! i’ve read your tumbles too. oft hilarious, as expected!

  2. sonja February 3, 2010 at 8:50 AM #

    your choice of music, teevee and video clips rock. creative and inspired! and don, looks sooo handsome indeed!

  3. Tom Huffman February 6, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    So, you’re cheating on me with Jon Hamm? Not OK.

    By the way, your blog is way fun. Great use of clips. You are now bookmarked!

  4. Tom February 6, 2010 at 4:55 PM #

    P.S. though…can’t blame you re: JH. Hubba Hubba in ridiculous amounts. Almost too ridiculous.

    • ohbriggsy February 6, 2010 at 7:24 PM #

      thanks! you know you’re always my first, but jon is with me every summer sunday night, week in and week out these past three years. did you watch this past season? i hear sal’s not coming back! denied!

Leave a Reply

