Forgotten Song Friday!

23 Apr

I was in Utah climbing red rocks last week, but Friday always rolls back around, and so do I.  I’m back.  With Nelson.  Yeah, I did it.   

   

Matthew and Gunnar Nelson (I did not have to Google that) had their number 1 hit, “(Can’t Live Without Your) Love and Affection,” in September, 1990.  These guys were twins, of all things.      

After the rain…their manes get a mite frizzy.

    

Yes, a parentheses song.  Whatever happened to parentheses songs?  These guys were bold, putting the portion of the song title that was in parentheses at the BEGINNING of the song title.  Well played, Matthew and/or Gunnar or their handlers.  Other notable parentheses songs include, of course, “Pride (In The Name of Love)” by U2, “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” by Simple Minds, “Dude (Looks Like a Lady)” by Aerosmith, and my personal fave “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)” by Hall and Oates.    

So I can imagine the concept behind Nelson.  Scene: Corporate executive fat cats at their board room table.  Said corporate fat cat: OK, boys, we need a new hair band.  We’ve got the pop/cute guy hair bands (Bon Jovi, and the surprisingly handsome Kip Winger, from Winger), the Christian one (Stryper!), excess makeup (Poison), stripped down (Tesla).  Hmm, what do we need?  I got it!  Twins!  Blonde ones!  Grown men with long blonde hair who look identical.  Perfect!   Reminds me of this, prolly the best moment from this season of the Office. 

 

The video for “(Can’t Live without Your) Love and Affection” is a trip.  I was pretty confused on the concept at first, but then I realized that it’s the classic,  It Was All A Dream!  A dream where everyone is wearing chaps of some sort.  By the end, I was surfing ebay for where I could get some chaps.  Please, someone, invite me to a party so I’ll have an excuse to wear these bad boys!    

Their dad was Ricky Nelson.  This kid was 50s hot.   

    

Wholesome and smokin’. A difficult balance.

    

He reminds me of Wally Cleaver, whom an ex once said I resembled.   

This is pretty much exactly what I look like.

    

I had the CD, I’m not afraid to admit.  I mowed lawns back then and after I bought my giant Game Boy, I had mucho disposable income for CDs.  Poison, Bell Biv Devoe (now you, indeed, know), Tone Loc, Young MC, Bon Jovi and Jon Bon Jovi’s solo effort with the Young Guns 2 Soundtrack, and so on.    

This song was POPULAR in 1990 and into 1991.  It was all over the radio.  And the kids from Kids Inc. did it on their show.  It was kind of an early 1990s Kids Bop, which is one of the signs of the apocalypse.      

   

What the hell is this?!  Kids Inc. was after my time, but I was still excited and freaked out to find a whole slew of Kids Inc. videos on the you tubes.  Did anyone out there watch Kids Inc.?  This was like bad karaoke.  Listen to the enunciation here: it’s top notch!  And look, it’s Eric Balfour on lead vocals!    

Gabe. He was bad for Claire!

Claire’s BF from Six Feet Under!  Holy crap!  Speaking of Kids Inc., this one’s for Double S, the biggest fan of the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack for Pretty Woman that I’ve ever met:   

   

And then these guys did it in 2007 (in their college dormitory’s boiler room).  It lives!   

   

Nelson’s (only) other hit was “After the Rain.”   

   

Nelson can make it easier to get along with your abusive father/(probably)stepfather by stepping out of the giant poster you have of them on your wall!  I’m really unsure of the Native American imagery and appropriation here.  Unsure because wtf were they trying to convey here?  Oh yeah, that this Native American guy wants to spend his time spreading enlightenment to the likes of the Nelson brothers.  Got it!  Also, what strikes me now is how gay, OK homoerotic,  this video is.  This would never happen now, and that’s incredibly sad.    

And, yes, Nelson is still alive and kicking.  Apparently they headline Royal Caribbean cruises now.  Prestigious!  Here’s their newer version of their classic.   

Now these guys look like Christian rockers.  Wow, I talk about Christian rock in this blog way more than I would have anticipated.    

Happy Friday everybody!

7 Responses to “Forgotten Song Friday!”

  1. Jessica April 23, 2010 at 11:41 AM #

    Stacy Ferguson, none other than FERGIE from Blackeyed Peas: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BtzHvpl_498

    Also, I saw Nelson play at a weird festival on Alki Beach when I was a kid, before their big hit! The hair was ever so lovely.

    • ohbriggsy April 23, 2010 at 3:25 PM #

      holy crap! thanks for sending that link! fergie before she was flossy flossy! and the thought of seeing nelson at alki is making me so jealous and wanting of a time machine!

  2. meg April 23, 2010 at 11:48 AM #

    Glad you kept it up this week. I look forward to FSF all week! Miss you friend!

    • ohbriggsy April 23, 2010 at 3:22 PM #

      thanks friend! you must’ve been a nelson fan, what with your hair rock love. i miss you as well! can’t wait to hang out soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. (Back to Reality) « oh, briggsy… - November 30, 2010

    […] November 30, 2010 by ohbriggsy Well, friends, it’s been a minute.  But as my (PARENTHESES!) title cryptically […]

  2. Xmas Song of the Day #12: Friends and Family! Fam-a-lee! Fam-a-lee! « oh, briggsy… - December 22, 2010

    […] the new disc is “It Really Is (A Wonderful Life),” which may be the Indigo Girls’ first parentheses song!  By the way, I had a problem with these videos due to copyright issues, so check these videos out […]

  3. 12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day One! « oh, briggsy… - December 6, 2012

    […] judge), and you were all like, FUCK! Where the everloving heck is ohbriggsy? Where are the forgotten song fridays, where are the posts where ohbriggsy spends weeks making something you could spend 10 minutes going […]

Leave a Reply

