Forgotten Song Friday!

28 May

So, I finally went to that Eagles concert last night.  Shit was crazy!  Remember when the concert got canceled a few weeks back, and I ended up at Chopstix, the dueling piano bar, and was in a weird hyper-heterosexual-but-kinda-fun-in-a-trainwrecky-way purgatory?  Well we didn’t make it back to the ‘Stix this week, we actually made it to the show!  And I gotta say, the weirdness of Chopstix ain’t got nothing on the weirdness of being in a packed arena of middle aged Eagles fans!

Today’s forgotten song is probably my favorite Eagles song: “I Can’t Tell You Why.”  And I got to hear it live at the show!  You’ll especially love it if you love easy listening/soft rock, like I do!  Ask Double S about my penchant for Seattle’s Warm 106.9.  I’m always secretly programing it in to the car’s pre-programmed stations.  I draw the line at Delilah though.  I have too much vicarious embarrassment when I listen to the callers on Delilah.  Anywho, “I Can’t Tell You Why” really is a forgotten song for me, as I tend to forget it exists until I happen to hear it.   Then, when I do hear it, I comment on how much I love the song.  Just like I did last night!  It reminds me of being 5 in the backseat of my parents car with the windows open.   Here’s “I Can’t Tell You Why.”

Go ahead, you can air guitar to that famous ending.  I’ll join you.

“I Can’t Tell You Why” hit the top 10 in April of 1980.  And that dude singing that’s not Don Henley or Glen Frey is Timothy Schmit. This is the only major Eagles song from the 70s on which he sings lead vocals, and his sickness was the reason behind the cancellation of the first show.  End transmission of my Eagles trivia.

Remember that one relationship you had where you kept breaking up and getting back together?  This was that relationship’s theme song.  By the way, get out of that relationship if you’re currently in it.  If you can’t tell ME why you keep getting back together, it’s time to call it a night.

Anyway, the concert was a trip!  Let me set the scene.  Key Arena, packed to the gills with white straight couples in their mid 40s to mid 50s.  Our seat neighbors were the exception.  Two dudes who were basically straight up human versions of Moe Szyslak (if Moe wore too much cologne, had a mullet and hogged the arm rest) and the Comic Book Guy (if he wore shorter shorts (In May! In Seattle! In the rain!) and lots of rings), if they were human, friends, and had decided to go to an Eagles concert together in Seattle.  They were one of the few sets of people who weren’t drunk married couples.  Besides us!

Our seat neighbors.

But with SHORTER shorts.

Mainly the crowd was comprised of drunk, sexed up empty-nester moms with frosted hair from the ‘burbs and their Tommy Bahama wearing middle to upper management (second?) hubbies.  We were thinking they were from Everett?  Kent?  Bellevue?  Oh, and you don’t know Tommy Bahama?  Yeah, you know Tommy Bahama.

Reader! Your dad/stepdad is here!

My supervisor wears them to work!  And I think I’ve seen Double S’s dad rocking these bad boys as well.

The Eagles sounded good though, as long as we could focus on them and not the audience.  They did a lot of their classics.  Before we left that is!  Secret: We left early.  We didn’t get to hear “Take It Easy,” my other favorite Eagles song, mainly because I usually have seven women on my mind.  Let’s listen to it now, shall we.  From 1973.

How awesome does Glen Frey look here?  I love the hair/stache combo.  Jealous!  Man, it makes you have to come to terms with your own aging when you look at these guys in pics and videos from the 70s and then look at them now.   And they’re incredibly rich celebrities and thus are better taken care of than the rest of us, and actually look still look pretty good.   Depression.

Back to the matter at hand, they did play a pretty cool version of “Hotel California” (complete with red lighting and a horn solo intro), and also “Lyin’ Eyes,” “One of These Nights,” “Take It To the Limit,” “Witchy Woman” (There was some hilarious sexy concert hugging dancing going on to this song.  It was simultaneously so funny and creepy that I wanted it to happen again so I could rub my eyes and make sure it was real.), and “Peaceful Easy Feeling.”  Full disclosure: For a lot of my life I thought they were singing “East Coast Easy Feeling.”  Embarrassed.

Don Henley did “Boys of Summer!”  Highlight!  I was pumped!  Except some drunk middle aged people got into a fight because one sloppy drunk couple decided to break the unspoken no standing and/or dancing rule of the evening, and stood and danced with their beers in their hands.  No one could make them sit down!  Not the passive aggressive stink eye by the ladies or the demands of their gents to have the ushers make them sit down.  This couple’s dancing would not be silenced!  Eventually, the dude sat down, but the woman was all like, ‘Hell no, I will not sit down during this Eagles concert for which I (my husband) paid $185 for my ticket.’  She was hilarious.  Mainly because we weren’t sitting behind her.  If we had been sitting directly behind her, best believe I would have been pissed!  And I most certainly didn’t pay for my ticket.

The woman was dancing very strangely for being at an Eagles concert.  Now, when I think of the Eagles, I don’t think of late 60s hippies.    I think about the twentysomethings in the easy livin’ 70s, going to parties and sleeping on waterbeds and driving vans whereupon you shouldn’t knock if they rock, and occasionally dancing to disco and eventually becoming my aunt and uncles (my parents are too square) and their friends.  Not this lady.  My chum Jen mentioned that she looked like someone in a skit that parodied the ’60s.  Then I mentioned that she looked like someone on Laugh-In, and then we just started calling her Goldie.  She looked like she came from a time machine, last stop being at central casting for Laugh-In.  Do my readers get Laugh-In jokes?  I hope!  She was basically this:

Except imagine her spinning around dancing while making peace signs, or Richard Nixon ‘I Am Not A Crook’ gestures, with both hands.  What the eff?!

LOLpoliticians...

Also, I think you really had to be there with Laugh-In, am I right oldie olsons?  What was up with that show?  And methinks the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree with this one and Kate Hudson.  Yikes!

Anyway, this shit had to happen right during “Boys of Summer,” right in front of me, ohbriggsy…the biggest fan of 80s music EVER!  Lordy, people got pissed!  These beligerent dancers ruined both a crappy video I was trying to take and my experience of “Boys of Summer,” an effing awesome song, yos! Ruined because, well, who can look away from upper middle class middle-aged white people fighting?

I’ll just show you said crappy video.  Look at Goldie go!  She is not a crook!

Dude’s head even blocks the you tube screengrab!

I was excited to document one of my favorite childhood (and adult!) songs.  Then the dancing blocks my view.  Then words are exchanged with the people in the rows behind them, and then I finally give up in frustration and just kind of let the camera loll around.

Speaking of me adding my own videos, a first here at ohbriggsy, here’s a a video with a little bit better quality.  Take it! To the Limit!  One More Time!

Ok, jerks, I was trying to get a shot of the excited crowd there at the end, but it didn’t work.  I gave up again!  Quitters unite!

Anyway, here is “Boys of Summer”‘s indelible and iconic video.  I think I got a pair of Wayfarers because they’re named checked in this song.  Oh and Risky Business.

The images of the past projected on the background is kinda genius.

I gotta admit, I’m a Don Henley fan.  Thus the coolest (if I can use that word to describe this) part of the show for me was seeing the Don.  His hits are many.  “Dirty Laundry,” “Boys of Summer,” “All She Wants to Do Is Dance” (Dance!  Dance!), “The End of the Innocence,” “New York Minute,” and “Last Worthless Evening.”  No one does nostalgic melancholy like Don Henley!

Besides that, the rest of the band kinda made me think I was watching a concert put on by dads.  Rich rockin’ white dads!  Put on some Eagles this Memorial Day weekend and have a BBQ.  Kick back and have an east (west or no) coast easy feeling.  Happy Friday, everybody!  The best kind…long weekend Friday!  I’m gonna eat and go to film festival movies and bake and hang out with my awesome chums and make raised beds.  You?

8 Responses to “Forgotten Song Friday!”

  1. growandresist May 28, 2010 at 12:47 PM #

    Love it! Sounds like a fascinating (& a bit scary!) setting!
    I haven’t heard of the polish place either! Tell me how it is.

    • ohbriggsy June 1, 2010 at 1:28 PM #

      thanks friend! and thanks for the tickets! btw, the polish place was good. a real hidden gem!

  2. Halpin June 1, 2010 at 10:36 AM #

    I’m sooo jealous! I LOVE Don Henley. I also love Glenn Frey, but only because of this:

    That’s why he looks so good now. He’s “Up in the morning/ Asleep at night/ [he’s] livin’ right!” Must go download “Livin’ Right” as ringone now…

    • ohbriggsy June 1, 2010 at 1:32 PM #

      i didnt know you loved don henley! awesome! don is great, AND he plays drums and sings at the same time. you have to admire that. this “livin’ right” video has got me speechless. it’s like the 80s in video form, like a middle aged rich codger’s take on the crazy aerobics craze!
      and don and glenn do look great, btw. they’re coming to busch this summer right? you should try to score some tickets–it was bizarre and awesome!

  3. Double S June 1, 2010 at 11:43 AM #

    Nice job on posting your first videos! It really captured the Nixon hand motions you described! Hope you get some time soon to listen to Warm 106.9!

    • ohbriggsy June 1, 2010 at 1:32 PM #

      thanks! i really do need to become a member of WARM’s loyal listener’s club!

  4. Danielle September 4, 2010 at 7:43 AM #

    I’m also Don Henley fan, so much so that we had a musician friend play ‘Lilah’ for our first dance at our wedding. Loving the blog by the way.

    • ohbriggsy September 8, 2010 at 1:06 PM #

      thanks for stopping by! don h. is awesome. i could listen to summer of 69 and new york minute pretty much whenever.

Leave a Reply

