Forgotten Song Friday!

11 Jun

O.K., here’s the thing you guys.  I’m a big Survivor fan.  You know…Survivor.  Come on, people!  Survivor is a forgotten gem of an 80s band.  Survivor is the band singing the inspirational training song on every Rocky soundtrack from the 80s, and there were a lot of Rocky movies with a boatload of roman numerals, friends.  I loved all of them.  Rocky eye!  Rocky eye eye!  Rocky eye eye eye!  Rocky eve vee! All great!  Anyway, I didn’t see the aughts incarnation of Rocky, Rocky vee, so you’re on your own with that one, friends.  Maybe you can catch a Rocky marathon on TNT on some upcoming holiday weekend.

Ladies and gentlemen, Survivor:

Ah, the classic pose from the 80s...the band leaning against a garage door. I hope no one accidentally presses the opener!

I’m here today to remind you of Survivor.  Their synthesizers.  Their soaring lyrics.  Survivor just might need to become your forgotten favorite 80s band of the summer.  And summer might come someday to the Pac NW, I hope.

So, backstory. I was home visiting the fam a few weeks back.  You know how when you’re an adult and live out of town from your family and you’re home visiting the rents, the days get a rhythm to them?  Favorite foods are consumed, local landmarks are visited, you generally act like you’re 14, etc.   Then that last night in town rolls around, and there ain’t much left to do or say.  Teevee always fits the bill for my family!  This time around we all enjoyed Paul Blart: Mall Cop on cable.  My family has a penchant for large male comedians.  You pretty much can’t pass a day around there without a John Candy quote from Planes, Trains and Automobiles, or Uncle Buck.

Now Kevin James is no John Candy, although I would argue that King of Queens was actually kinda funny sometimes.  And it featured  Queens, where I used to live!  And it had Patton Oswalt, who is somewhat awesome.

Anyway, while watching the movie, little did I know that I’d be reminded of an awesome forgotten band.  Yep, Survivor!  Survivor is awesome, yos!  Today’s forgotten song is “High on You,” which hit the top 10 of the Billboard charts in April 1985.  Before you press play, to get interactive, please start playing an air Casio keyboard.  You know, what ol’ Giz is playing here:

This is so 80s that I just peed my pants a little.

Or, follow the lead of Keyboard Cat.

I’ll get that little ditty stuck in my head sometimes.  7 million hits and counting for Keyboard Cat!

OK, so start air Casio-ing.  Then hit play.

Yes!  Thanks for playing along!

That was from their performance on Solid Gold.  What was I thinking in the 80s when I hardly ever watched Solid Gold?  Can I get this on DVD?  Answer: No.  Dammit!  Check out the opening of Solid Gold, from 1984.

Wow.  Just wow.

Anyway, “High on You” is from Survivor’s magnum opus, Vital Signs.

Ooh, medical chart-y!

How good was this album?  I can answer that!  Vital Signs had most of Survivor’s major hits, save the Rocky related inspirational songs. Here’s a little sampling of the tracks from Vital Signs.  Prepare to say, “Oh I love that song!”  Repeatedly.

The song from aforementioned Paul Blart, “I Can’t Hold Back.”

I can’t hold back! From pressing repeat on this song!  Hi-oh!

And just for kicks, Survivor’s performance of it on Solid Gold.  It reached #9!

If your life is a like a character on a sitcom or romcom, you will really get all doe eyed over their next hit…”The Search Is Over.”

Tres romantique!  She was right there the whole time!  Haven’t we all been there?

But Survivor also had their Rocky hits.  Songs typically played while the Rock trained.  And trained hard!  He had eyes similar to a large ferocious cat, IMHO.

Rocky IV had an awesome training montage, set in the Russian winter.  I’ll always remember this movie as the only movie I ever saw with my dad, grandpa and toddler brother.  Gramps didn’t come to the movies very often.  My mom must have been off at a Tupperware party or something.  Ah, 80s Tupperware.  Anyway, this one is by John Cafferty, not Survivor.

Makes me wanna go run in the snow with a big tree trunk!  Yeah!  And look how good ol’ Rock looks.  The winter does him good.

Anyway, Survivor did most Rocky IV’s soundtrack too.  May I remind you of “Burning Heart?”

Boo USSR!  Boo Drago!

Oh, Drago.  You don’t have to break us!

The best and classic training clip of all the Rockys is of course from the original Rocky.  I love the Philly street scenes and of course Rock’s outfit.  That getup wouldn’t fly in Seattle!  You need a $200 pair of running shorts from REI to exercise in this town.  That song is “Gonna Fly Now” by Bill Conti, BT dubs.  I put it on a graduation mixtape for Double S.  Be prepared for goosebumps!  I got ‘em!

I used to crack up (in my opinion, ok?) my family and friends with my ‘Yo Adrian!’ Rocky impression when I was 10.  I’m still pretty good at it.



You should have seen my ‘Yo Double S’ when I passed the bar.  Epic.

Happy Friday everybody!

5 Responses to “Forgotten Song Friday!”

  1. LA June 19, 2010 at 9:55 PM #

    Nice!! Do you by any chance remember what movie ‘High on You’ was in? It’s been driving me NUTS for ages, and I cannot think of it! And internet searches have yielded zero. Hmm.

    • ohbriggsy June 21, 2010 at 1:48 PM #

      thanks! oh man, i don’t think high on you was in any movie that I can think of, and my internet searches didn’t come up with anything either. let me know if you find something. are you thinking it was a more modern movie, or something mid 80s-ish?

  2. Luker June 21, 2010 at 7:40 PM #

    Holy…I saw the opening sequence of your Solid Gold clip and they were going to have SHALAMAR on! I have not heard that name since I read it off my old Footloose soundtrack tape (Dancing in the Sheets anyone?). Awesome.
    And you know the guy from Survivor does those Real Men of Genius Bud Light ads?

    • ohbriggsy June 22, 2010 at 7:38 PM #

      I did read that the survivor dude was affiliated with Bud Light. Two great things that go great together! And re Solid Gold, I would LOVE LOVE LOVE to be able to watch all of those episodes in their entirety. Now, I have to go listen to Shalimar…

  3. Patrick Longworth September 12, 2011 at 9:11 AM #

    Thanks for posting this page, the videos etc. I wish that someone would put out a collection of Survivor videos as I’m a big fan of the band. I have to admit, I was looking at these videos with more of a critical eye than I’d expected (seeing one video with the lyrics apparently out of sinc with Jamison’s singing). I’ve been a fan from the very first time I heard Eye of the Tiger on the radio. I managed to track down all of their albums over a period of years including the very first one.

Leave a Reply

