Forgotten Song Friday!

8 Oct

I’m going on vacation, bitches.  After much scrambling to change plans from a flooded, long planned trip to Mexico, things have changed and I’m going to Hawaii.  Let me tell you what I’ve been like for the last two weeks.

Everyone was all like, ‘briggsy you have to do this thing you dont wanna do.’  And I was all like:

 

Me, for the past two weeks...

 

People were all like:

And I was all like:

People were all tryin’ to tell me something.  And I was like, s’cuse me, was you sayin’ somethin’?

Nuh uh, friends, ya can’t tell me nothin’ lately.  But I will give you that bonus Zach Galifianakis (organic?) farming clip in place of a Kanye video.

Then!  People were all trying to hold me down this week.   So P. Diddy and Mase busted in, and needless to say, they were not having that.

This video reminds me of how all late 90s mainstream hip hop videos had to have Puff Daddy, as he was colloquially known at the time, dancing and mugging right into the camera, wearing shiny running suits all the while.  Oh, that and  how aforementioned Puff Daddy basically took old voicemails from Biggie and turned them into hit songs from circa 1995-1997.

In other words, friends, nothing could steal my sunshine this week.  From forgotten late 90s alt rockers/Y2K one hit wonders, Len, here is my theme song from the last two weeks, “Steal My Sunshine.”  It’s just like I’m rocking out the last few months of the Clinton administration when I hear the opening notes of this bad boy.

I actually looked up the lyrics to this and they make no sense.  Case in point:

“now the funny glare to pay a gleaming tear in a staring under heat
involved an under usual feat
and i’m not only among but i invite who i want to come
so i missed a million miles of fun”

Um, yeah.  No.  But as it played on an endless loop in my mind, I was thinking that it was about how no one’s ass could steal my sunshine this week.  I think it actually may be about late 90s alternateens smokin’ weed and rollin’ around Southern California or Florida or something, with girls with Janeane Garafalo hair, but whatevs!  I’m going on vacay, y’all!

Back to what I was saying.  Blah blah vacation, blah blah me being out of it and already on vacation in my mind.  Oh yes, speaking of no one’s ability to kill my bad mood for the past few weeks, I also had this gem running through my mind.  Earworm alert!  Mission accomplished, Matthew Wilder!  No one was able to “Break My Stride.”  Or as I’ve always  sung, “ain’tnuthin’agonnaabreakamystriiide”!

I usually avoid youtube users comments, but the one that so tactfully says, “Dislike chick walking in and talking shit”?  Me too, thissk8r, me too.  But I couldn’t find a better version, so you take what ya get.  How much does this guy look like a 1970s children’s puppeteer?

 

Creepy puppet's a'comin 'ayour a'way, kids!

 

Answer: A lot.

I had some weird ideas about the songs of my youth.  For instance, I often thought that people I knew, or people that I thought I knew (like from teevee!) sang the songs that I heard on my radio and liked.  Case in point: I thought my grandma sang Alicia Bridges’ 1978 disco hit, “I Love The Nightlife (Disco ‘Round)”

What?  Their voices sounded similar to 4/5/6 year old me.  Editor’s note: My grandma didn’t sing, or at least never sang me anything.  I was a weird kid.  I like to think of what my mom must have thought when I first asked if if grandma sang the nightlife song.  My guess: What, for the love of god, have I gotten myself into?  But added bonus: Parentheses song!

I also thought my Aunt Sue sang Kim Carnes’ “Bette Davis Eyes.”  I had seen this video and was furthered in my notion by how Kim and my aunt kinda sorta looked alike!  Clap Clap!  Clap!

I’m still kinda like, I can see/hear it!  Where is my aunt hiding those damn royalty checks?  I guess maybe the video came first, as they do vaguely resemble each other.  Also, at :45 Kim/Aunt Sue magically teleports to a Williamsburg loft party, circa  2005.

 

Yep, there's Alicia Bridges, Kim Carnes, my cousin, my aunt, yours truly and my mom, circa the late 70s? We were kind of a big deal.Yeah, I know my grandma's Coca Cola wallhanging was awesome. And yes, I know my dad and uncle looked awesome in their vests. Thanks!

 

So anyway, how does this relate back to Matthew Wilder?  As I’ve blogged, I watched a lot of teevee as a kid.  Who here watched Superstation TBS reruns after school every day?  Me!  We’re talking Brady Bunch, Gilligan’s Island, The Jeffersons, Happy Days, Laverne and Shirley, Good Times, Little House on the Prairie, The Munsters, The Flintsones, The Jetsons.  That was some good watchin’, y’all!  Well, when it wasn’t interrupted by endless horrible Atlanta Braves games.  They played that shit constantly.

It takes me back to watch that!  I feel like I have homework for Mrs. Gorman’s class and am about to sit down to taco night or something with a side salad with “Wishbone” dressing, my favorite at the time.

Anyway, thanks to Superstation TBS, The Brady Bunch was ubiquitous in my childhood.  Why do I bring this up?  Well, my definition of people I knew who I thought sang the pop hits of the day was mighty broad.  Because of my familiarity with the Brady Bunch cannon, I thought that Matthew Wilder’s “Break My Stride” sounded as if it was sung by Peter Brady himself, Christopher Knight.  Why, I kinda don’t remember.  But Peter Brady was definitely the cutest Brady son.

 

From the gender bending episode where Pete joins the Sunflower Girls to get back at Marcia for trying to join Greg's scout group. Those early feminists...

 

Happy Friday everybody!

4 Responses to “Forgotten Song Friday!”

  1. Mo October 10, 2010 at 7:30 PM #

    Love the photos at the beginning! Omg I totes lol ed!

    • ohbriggsy October 11, 2010 at 11:43 PM #

      thanks mo! i hope you’re enjoying nyc!

  2. Halpin October 14, 2010 at 7:28 AM #

    Superstation TBS…That’s today!

    • ohbriggsy October 27, 2010 at 1:47 PM #

      love it! i had that jingle in my head for my most of the 80s AND when i wrote that post!

Leave a Reply

