(Back to Reality)

30 Nov

Well, friends, it’s been a minute.  But as my (PARENTHESES!) title cryptically implies…

I’m back.  Where have I been?  Well, to continue speaking via songs from the  1989-1990 era (my favorite):  I did too much drinking (Read also: snorkeling, eating guavas and poke, listening to island music, watching The Walking Dead and Terriers and Bored to Death (all recommended!), falling in the snow, generally loafing) / Wasted too much time…I’ve been around the world and I-I-I / I forgot about ohbriggsy…

You should click on the youtube link here.  Why?

Because...Sinbad!

I don’t know when / I don’t know why / Why it’s gone away (Ed’s note: Yeah, I actually do.  Travel, laziness and writer’s block!).  Ohbriggsy.  But I’ll gonna fiiiiiiind him/her/it.  (Ed’s note: Blogs have no gender, mmkay?)

Anyway, as I was saying, I’m back to my blog!  Let my 6 readers (Hi Double S and her 5 sympathy page views!) rejoice!

OK, so on to the where have I been piece.  I’ve been in Kauai.  I’ve been in the snow in Seattle and the city was shut down for 2.5 days.  I’ve been in the Cascades, snowshoeing and cross country skiing and having saunas to explore my Scandinavian by marriage (actually not marriage) roots.   I’ve been getting the homestead ready for the annual deluge of rainfall.  I’m always tempted to buy this, ostensibly for my Seattle weather hating pops, when I’m at the market.  Hardy har har!  In Seattle it rains from January 1-December 31!  it’s funny cuz it’s true!  It’s a rain fest!  Come on, now.  It rains from like January 1-July 5, then recommencing approximately October 20-December 31, ok?  In your face, makers of that novelty tee shirt!

Anyway, where was I?  Oh, yes.  Kauai.  I was in Kauai for two weeks in October and I pretty much don’t need to vacation anywhere else.  The beaches, the ocean, the weather. And the food.  I discovered fruit that I had never had before while I was there.  Guavas drip off the trees.   I should have been my usual out of control self and preserved some for taking back to the mainland, but alas.  I ate so many guavas that it became a running joke and almost made me fall off the Kalalau trail to my untimely death.   But denied, death!  I just ripped my shorts!  But wait, there’s more.  Passionfruit, starfruit, huge avocados.  Have you had a passionfruit?  Oh lawd, you must try a passion fruit.  Also, I was in a cave that was in a Mary J. Blige video.  Oh, Mary…

What is up with youtube?  I cannot embed the last two videos and that makes ohbriggsy angry.  What gives?  Anyway, click on the above link and be jealous that I was in Kauai.

There it is!  The cave with no ceiling…starting at 1:42.  Thanks Capt. Gary from North Shore Charters for sharing that tidbit!

I’ve got some posts on the horizon, dear readers.

Is this thing on?

It’s fall, and I’m still preserving.  I’ve joked in the past about parsnips and non-sexy root veggies, but this is a great time to start some ferments and pickles.  I also have a big potato project in the horizon which you know you wanna hear about.  Some previously forgotten songs have been popping back in my head lately.  And I’ve gots to tell you about more delicious things to eat and drink in Seattle.  And it’s Christmas time!  I love Christmas.  And Christmas music! Cheesy snowflake hot toddy mistletoe christmas, none of that pesky religion.  So don’t fret, my pets!  I’m back!

11 Responses to “(Back to Reality)”

  1. J.See November 30, 2010 at 3:44 PM #

    Well, as one of your 5 readers, I am glad you are back. I was starting to wonder. I need more blogs about preserving, as I am a preserving machine. Currently I am trying to figure out what to pickle next. Any ideas?

    Also, I love Christmas too, and am trying to get a posse together for this Saturday’s Junction Christmas Tree lighting. I want to drink holiday booze and be merry, and you and Double S should totes come. I think Rinn and Peter said they would at some point, plus it is near their house so they don’t really have an excuse not to come.

    • ohbriggsy November 30, 2010 at 4:42 PM #

      hey jessica! thanks for reading! mu suggestions for fall fermenting are beets and kraut. stay tuned for a post! and lemme check with double s re the tree lighting–we were already thinking of going! sounds fun!

  2. TinTin November 30, 2010 at 3:45 PM #

    I’m so glad you’re back!! I’m not a sympathy view, but rather a dedicated reader who chuckles knowlingly at the all-too-familiar trials and tribs of Oh Briggsy and delights in the blasts from the past videos! Also, I very very much enjoy christmas and all its cheesy ridiculosity. You should come to the tree-lighting thing in downtown WeSea this weekend. I’m planning to bring a flask of hot buttered rum!

    • ohbriggsy November 30, 2010 at 4:43 PM #

      tin tin! thanks for reading! long time no see! lemme check about the tree lighting–it sounds fun! buttered rum, eh? sweet! i’ll bring the whiskey and hot chocolate! oh and stay tuned for news about an awesome xmas soiree that you simply must attend…

  3. TinTin November 30, 2010 at 3:46 PM #

    OMGoodness, J. See and I are totally on the exact same page!! Score. Tree lighting, good times. Be there.

    • J.See November 30, 2010 at 5:01 PM #

      We totally are on the same page! I like your hot buttered rum flask idea! Maybe I should invest in a good thermos.

      • ohbriggsy December 1, 2010 at 11:11 AM #

        is there actually butter in hot buttered rum? weird…

  4. cookie monster November 30, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

    Briggsy is back! Count me as one of your happy 10 readers…I double J. See!

    • ohbriggsy December 1, 2010 at 11:11 AM #

      COOKIE! thanks for your encouragement! can’t wait for our dudes’ night/bro date!

  5. growandresist November 30, 2010 at 9:17 PM #

    You are back! Yipppee for blasts from the past, Kauai, fruits, preserving, fermenting and cheesy xmas songs!

Leave a Reply

