Forgotten Xmas Song Friday! Hair Rock Edition!

10 Dec

You might call it hair rock, butt rock, glam rock, hard rock.  There were many different names for late 80s/early 90s awesomely cheesy ballads and hard rockin’ headbangers.  Call it what you want, but don’t forget about hair rock as you revel in holiday merrymaking.  The dudes (and Lita Ford) of hard rock  had the xmas spirit too!   Yep, the masters of hair and makeup and tales of love on the road knew the real meaning of xmas, and came out with their takes on xmas classics to prove it.

Have you listened to any of this stuff?  You’ve probably at least heard Jon Bon Jovi’s take on “Please Come Home For Christmas.”  It’s not very rock, but it is Jon Bon Jovi, so we must abide.  Jon’s song was on A Very Special Christmas Vol. II, which is a pretty good xmas CD, but does contain Wilson Phillips.

Just warning you.  Not that “Hold On” doesn’t have it’s place.  Double S and I did quite the duet to the harmony portions of “Hold On” whilst cross-country skiing recently.  Anyway, take it away, Jon!

Ya gotta admit this guy is handsome.  And canoodling with Cindy Crawford!?  That’s like an early 90s perfect storm of attractiveness.    Editor’s note: Whatever happened to good ol’ Cindy?  Do you ever mix up her image from the early 90s with that of Julia Roberts from the same time period?  Just me?  Ok!

In case I haven’t mentioned it, I was a big fan of hair rock, or what I called hard rock, at the time.  In 1988-1990, you might have typically found me in a Guns n’ Roses shirt, with a room full of posters from Metal Edge, the magazine I graduated to after years of reading Mad.

I seriously had this exact poster. I think. They pretty much all look the same.

Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t a purist.  I was 13-15, so I didn’t feel that the more successful hair rock bands were sell outs and only creepy stuff like Dokken and Blue Oyster Cult was good.  I liked the popular stuff!

Twisted Sister bridged that gap between popular and sell out for a minute, but were a smidge before my time.   They released a kinda AWESOME xmas track a few years back though, that you simply must listen to.  Here is their take on “O Come All Ye Faithful,” because when you think about this guy…

Merry christmas kids

…You think about the coming of the lord… to take you to heaven after you’ve been murdered by Dee Snider.

Oh come all ye friends and check out this video.   Bear with the first 1:30.  Yep, a full minute and  thirty seconds to get to the awesome song!

I know, right!  I’ll give you a minute to rock out.  Yeah! Air guitar!  Air drums!  I love how the opening is just like “We’re Not Gonna Take It,” which you must watch as well.  It also takes about a minute to get to the song, but it’s well worth it for the 80s cheese/awesomeness.

Speaking of “O Come All Ye Faithful,” Weezer does a pretty rockin’ version too.

I can’t put these kind of songs on the mixtapes I make every year, because not everyone appreciates air drumming and headbanging at Christmas, but I can’t help it…I do!  So here they are!

Anyway, What do you wanna do with your life, friends?  I wanna rock!

But wait, there’s more.  Nelson did “Jingle Bells. ” Nope, I’m not joking!

What’s that you say?  You have last minute xmas shopping to do?  Pick this baby up for the hair rock fan in your life! Stryper!  Dokken!  Danger Danger (With “Naughty Christmas”!)! L.A. Guns!  Enuff Z’Nuff!  Or pick it up for me!  You know where to find me!

Happy Friday everybody!

One Response to “Forgotten Xmas Song Friday! Hair Rock Edition!”

  1. growandresist December 10, 2010 at 9:11 PM #

    Love it! Loved the hair bands!

Leave a Reply

