Xmas Song of the Day #14: I Thought I’d Ask You Just the Same

27 Dec

It’s holiday week!  I just got back from sitting for hours at a coffeeshop, drinking a latte with four shots!  Gossiping about my family and asking questions about scandals I missed out on when I was a kid.  I’m about to have a drink and relax, then slap on a sweater and go out for Greek food with Double S and the ‘fam.  We’re returning to the scene of the crime where Double S and my pops got their drink on last summer, with extra strong dirty martinis.  I had one, then had to switch to the old school St. Louis drink of choice, Bud Light.  Don’t hate.  Congratulate! 

What are you guys doing this week?  Chillaxing?  Just plain relaxing?  Hitting the malls?  Working?  For the love of God I hope you’re not working.  That’s what January is for!  Speaking of, what are you doing New Year’s Eve?  Speaking of NYE , here’s a great version of Ella Fitzgerald’s classic, “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve.”

This is from one of those Verve Remixed Christmas cds.  I was unimpressed by most of the stuff on the cd, but I really like this one.  Bust it out on New Year’s, you won’t regret it. 

I also thought I’d reflect on 2010.  What else do I have to do?  Here are a few things I discovered this year.

Kozy Shack chocolate pudding!  Yep, I discovered store-bought pudding.  Surprisingly delicious!  I would have never thought I would buy pudding in a plastic tub, but this stuff is good.  For when you just need to have some chocolate pudding, ladies and gents I give you…

Kozy Shack chocolate pudding…where have you been all my life?
Regarding beer, I have turned into a bit of a lightweight.  Around the holidays I always want to try a holiday themed ale–there’s a zillion of them in Seattle, but I never do because I usually think they’re just gonna knock me on my ass.  Until I tried the Jive Espresso Stout from Two Beers Brewing Co., in the Georegtown nabe of Seattle.  Delicious.
Jive Espresso Stout from Two Beers Brewing Co. in Georgetown.

I watch a lot of teevee, I’m not gonna lie.  Teevee had a great year in 2010.  There are a lot of amazing shows on right now, mainly on cable.  But I did discover a new comedy recently and it’s LOL funny.  I admit, it looks terrible and it has a dumb title.  But it’s funny and surprisingly well done, and it’s not about a MILF chasing young dudes–although it is for the first few episodes of the first season.  It’s about a family of friends who drink a lot of wine, talk shit, and have each other’s backs.  Cougar Town!

Cougar Town, Wednesday nights on ABC.

Alright, I gotta get back to my regularly scheduled chillaxing schedule.  Did you guys discover anything new this year?  Do tell!

Leave a Reply

