Xmas Song of the Day #15: We’ll Take a Cup of Kindness Yet

31 Dec

So you all know my affinity for It’s a Wonderful Life.  I watched the second half of it again on xmas eve with Double S’s family.  That last scene got me again!

Don’t lie.  You want your family and friends to gather around you and then join in an exuberant rendition of “Auld Lang Syne.”  I mean, I hope you do.  I do!  I think I need to make a new year’s resolution to make a friend with an accordion!

So when you make a good (Always!) xmas mixtape, you should always throw in a good version of Auld Lang Syne to wrap it all up.  Gets the people thinking about their weight loss schemes, new hobbies, positive thoughts and plans for the next year.  You just had the holidays!  Sit back and reflect on the good stuff!



That was the Barenaked Ladies version of “Auld Lang Syne.”  I closed this year’s xmas mixtape with a version of “Auld Lang Syne” by the Black on White Affair.

Auld Lang Syne

Bust this one out at midnight tonight and crack open some bubbly!  I’ll be right there with you!

The Black on White Affair were a soul band from Seattle that made awesome music like this from the late 60s to the early 70s.  You can find out more about them on the documentary that showed at the Seattle International Film Festival this past year, called Wheedle’s Groove.

That’s it for me, folks.  Thanks for going with me on this little journey through xmas music this past month.  I hope your 2010 was a good one.  I like to think not of resolutions on this day and night, but of favorite moments from the past year, best accomplishments of the past year, and what I hope to do in 2011 (kinda like resolutions).  Double S and I will discuss these and more (Top teevee of the year as well, cuz we’re dorks.  But if you must know: Mad Men, Breaking Bad, Community, Parks and Recreation, Louie, Modern Family, Terriers) tonight after we open our presents to each other.  We like to wait till New Year’s Eve cuz, well, tradition.  We’ve done it that way since 2005.  We’ll also be enjoying a dinner of sushi and poke and island fruits to remember our favorite moment from 20110…our trip to Kauai.  Wanna see?

Endangered Hawaiian monk seal. We saw this guy on our second day in Kauai. I am lucky!

Wailua Falls. I'd be swimming in this bad boy in a matter of minutes.

Amazing sunshine markets almost every day of the week...

Glass beach. Yep, filled with sea glass.

I loved my trip to Kauai in 2010 this much!

Happy new year all!  See you next year!

Leave a Reply

