Forgotten Song Friday! Mississippi Moon Won’t You Keep On Shinin’ On Me!

18 Mar

So I just turned 36.  And I thought 35 sounded old!  At least 35 was all nice and even-y.  36 is just a downhill slope to 40.  Don’t get me wrong, friends, my 30s have been filled with wine, women and song,  I just don’t want them to be getting damn near over so quickly.  But you know, friends, as the years slip by, you start to get a different sense of time and age.  It can lead to a lot of drunken reminiscing, and things like being freaked out that there are “adults” around now who were born in the 1990s.  Not cool!

36 means I was born in 1975.  Oh shit! I just realized that my DOB was only 5 years after the 60s! I remember in the 80s, us kids got a little obsessed with the 50s and 60s.  Hence Back to the Future and everyone dressing up like hippies on Halloween.  Then in the 90s, us kids got a little obsessed with the 70s.  Hence the reemergence of disco, bell bottoms and (kinda) club music. Now I don’t wanna talk about today’s annoying kids getting obsessed with anything.    This is me.

As my birthday approached over the past few weeks, I started to wax a wee bit nostalgic.  Ask Double S about my myriad trips down memory lane.  Then, one day I hopped in the car to drive to work.  Backstory: I never do this.  My ass usually takes the bus but I had shit to do after work.  Anyway, I’d barely left my driveway when I hear it on the radio.   You know, that song that you love but hadn’t heard since you were a kid cruising around in your parents’ car.  And now you only know the chorus and you realize you’re prolly getting the words wrong, but ya gotta sing.  Yep, that’s what happened to me.

You know the song.  Where the 70s dudes are singing about taking you by the hand pretty mama so that you can dance with your daddy all night long.  The 70s dudes go on to sing about Mississippi moons shining on them and making everything alright.  And I’m immediately compelled to sing along.  There I was belting this puppy out in the car, picturing these singers as 70s dudes with long hair, fringe-y leather vests blowing in the wind, hanging out on stoops (because in MY mind, everyone in the 70s sat around on stoops.)   Basically I’m picturing these guys looking like the cast of Welcome Back Kotter, which in my mind is what adults in the 70s looked like.  Ah, teevee!

Right?

I rushed to work to google the song. Ya know, in that embarrassing way that you google songs that you don’t know the name of.  Remember back in the day when you couldn’t just google some random line from a song and find out everything about it?  Your ass had to wait to see if the DJ would bother to mention the title and artist of the jam you just heard on the radio.  That’s the way it was and we liked it.

Anyway, I kinda got the words wrong.  I tried  “hear some funky dixie lantern” or maybe it was  “mama gonna take you by the hand” or even–for the very confused “by the hand, hand, take me by the hand pretty mama!”   And of course, I found it!  “Black Water” by the Doobie Brothers. Yep, I just admitted that I’m fairly unfamiliar with the cannon of the brothers Doobie.  Shame.  Anyway, check out today’s forgotten song!

And for your downloading pleasure:

Black Water by the Doobs…

Why?  Cuz it’s just that good.

Funny thing I learned that morning of my googling, “Black Water” was the number one song in the US on Saturday, March 15, 1975.  My date of birth!  No effing joke!  Check it out! I know, right?  The Doobie Brothers spoke to me.  Briggsy!  Get your ass out of there and listen to some funky dixieland and then maybe in 35 years blog about it!

I love checking out old Billboard charts.  The Billboard website is sweet because you can search for the top 10 on any week going all the way back to 1955.  I discovered that function recently when I made Double S a birthday mixtape consisting of a song from the top ten of each of her 34 years, ’77-’11 so far!  Pickins got SLIM come 2010, homies.  Why? Because I’m old and out of touch with the pop musics.  Although, I’m comfortable enough in my maturity to say I put a song from the Biebs on there, well mainly to refer back to an inside joke between Double S and I that involved too many gin and tonics before 6pm while we watched this video.  Baby, baby, baby oh!  Oh, and the song from 2011 is hella catchy and the video has some sweetass NYC street scenes and footage of Rihanna washing wine glasses!  See, I’m not always a curmudgeon stuck in the mid to late 80s!  In other news, I miss NYC.  Sigh.   In other other news, Rihanna was born in 1988.  See?  Old!

The end of the song is worth the price of admission.  I dare you not to sing along.

Happy Friday everybody!

3 Responses to “Forgotten Song Friday! Mississippi Moon Won’t You Keep On Shinin’ On Me!”

  1. gita mehrotra March 18, 2011 at 12:36 PM #

    that doobie brothers song is in the category of catchy-songs-i-dont-want-to-like-but-i-totally-sing-along-when-i-hear-them! so funny (and awesome) that it was the top hit when you were born! ha! p.s. AWESOME mix CD idea for double S for her bday, by the way. i want to hear it sometime!

    • ohbriggsy March 18, 2011 at 12:42 PM #

      friend! thanks for commenting! i feel like a star with a comment from the gitster! i’m thinking we may have to do a duet to this song sometime–be it in the car or drunk at some bar or even…perchance..at karaoke???

  2. growandresist March 18, 2011 at 9:08 PM #

    Yes! Songs you must sing even though you don’t know why! At least it leads back to the day of your birth! I bet the CD is great!

Leave a Reply

