April Spice Rack Challenge: Dill Dip

22 Apr

I’ve been busy the last few weeks friends. so I haven’t been a’postin’, but I’m back, and just in time for April’s Spice Rack Challenge, coordinated by Mother’s Kitchen.  Our mission in April…dill!

Dill makes me think of two things.  One: pickles!  I love me some pickles.  This past summer I hot water bath canned them, fermented them, and made refrigerator pickles.  i just finished the last of my fermented pickles last night.  Don’t believe the hype that ferments can only last in the fridge for a few months.  OK, they may not stay crunchy, but the tang and the probiotic healthiness of it all remains.  And two: Why the hell can’t I get dill to grow in my g-d garden?  It looks like a damn weed, but I can’t get it to grow.  Anyone have any tips?  Keeping in mind that I’m in the Pacific Northwest and pretty much all that grows here is kale ad lettuce?

But, alas, it’s not the season for fresh dill.  Don’t fret my pet!

Did I do that? Yes. Yes, I did.

Briggsy’s here with a dill recipe that my family breaks out every Christmas, baptism, Arbor Day, Memorial Day, and so on. We love dip!  Here goes:

Man, the Cranberries hold up.

Briggsy Family Dill Dip

Ingredients:

3/4 cup sour cream

3/4 cup mayonnaise

2 tsp or more of dill weed.  I’ve gotta admit, I’ve never even tried this with fresh dill.  Seems sacrilegious.

1/4 of a medium-sized white or yellow onion, diced.

1-2 tsp (to taste) Beau Monde seasoning.  Beau Monde is a seasoning salt, with flavors of celery, onion and salt, with a touch of sweetness.  You could probably improvise a little chopped celery and salt and sugar, but I don’t mess with Briggsy family tradition.

Rye bread loaf.

Steps:

1.  Mix everything together and let chill for a few hours or overnight so the flavors can meld.  Then taste and see if you prefer more dill or beau monde.  You won’t!

2.  Invite your friends over and have them make their family dips and bring beer.

3.  Right before serving, either tear up your rye bread loaf into bite size pieces or, if If you’re lucky, get one of those round rye loaves, hollow it out, put the bread inside then tear up the bread you hollowed out into bite sized pieces, for dippin’!

Briggsy family dill dip, circa Xmas 2006.

Yours truly, enjoying the xmas spread that year...

Enjoy, friends!

3 Responses to “April Spice Rack Challenge: Dill Dip”

  1. Nicole April 27, 2011 at 4:12 PM #

    Good old fashioned dill dip can’t be beat!

    • maria April 28, 2011 at 10:30 AM #

      Now that I’m in Greenpoint, I have access to TONS of dill. Love the Polish for that. Never any basil even in the summer though. Sad face.

    • ohbriggsy May 3, 2011 at 12:35 PM #

      sure can’t!

Leave a Reply

