Meh! The Twelve Days of Christmas Songs!

13 Dec

Hi readers!  Due to absolutely no demand whatsoever, I’m back with a second year of my Christmas Song of the Day series!

I know, I know.  You guys!  Thanks!

What a year 2011 has turned out to be, amirightfolks?  The Cardinals won the World Series!

What else?  Well, there’s actually a mass political movement occurring in the US.  You know, against the 1%…these fuckers:

Yep, I’m still on the whole lolcats thing.  Sigh…

So, anyway, catch up, catch up.  Thanksgiving happened.  I flew home for Thanksgiving for the first time in years.  And boy are my arms tired!  I drank too much beer to give thanks for all that I have.   And I’m doing it all again in just a few days.  I plan to drink more beer, watch some Hollywood movies and Oscar contenders (The Descendants?  Yes!  Young Adult?  Why not!), play some original Nintendo (see below), make merry, have bonfires, go ice skating, hang out with my family (Gosh!), and so on.

And now I’m here giving you jolly mofos some Christmas cheer.  If you were here last year, you know that my annual dose of holiday cheer is appearing here quite late. I know, ok?  I had good intentions to do a 25 days of Christmas songs series, I swear!  Meh, I couldn’t make it happen.  I’ve been dutifully planning Double S’s xmas gifts, bidding on original Nintendo ebay auctions for my pop’s gift (there ya go!), decorating the homestead, drinking boozy hot chocolate, and crying daily over the (temporary?) absence of Community.  For crying out loud, have you still not watched Community?  Just leave.  No, it’s ok.  Catch up over the holidays, mmkay?

Ok, so it’s December 13 and I’m sure you’re been sitting there dumbstruck without xmas tuneage from yours truly.  How about a 12 days of xmas series?  Turtles doves and shit!  Alright, let’s do it!  Thanks for the idea, friend!

Without much more adieu, here’s the first of ohbriggsy’s 12 days of xmas tunes!

So I’ve been working on my 2011 annual holiday mix for a few weeks now, and (this just in!) I finished it!  The 6th annual edition!  ’05-’11 with a brief break in 2006 to uproot my life and move across the country with Double S.    So, if you’re one of my pals and you changed your address or anything, shoot me your new address and one will be coming your way.  So in my holiday mixtape making travels, I discovered a little gem by a Brooklyn group called The Bandana Splits.  Here they are with their rendition of Paul McCartney’s (and Wings?  I’m too young to know who they were…)  “Wonderful Christmastime.”

Wonderful Christmas Time (Paul McCartney cover)

Hey did you know that “Wonderful Christmastime” often gets voted worst/most annoying Christmas song ever?  Come on!  It’s fun!  Check out Paul and the late Linda wearing scarves, smiling, and drinking their way through the original back in 1979.

I hope you and yours are having a wonderful Christmas time!  And hey, what have you liked this year?

5 Responses to “Meh! The Twelve Days of Christmas Songs!”

  1. growandresist December 13, 2011 at 8:38 PM #

    And you are back! Wooot! We’ve missed you. I’ve missed you. And just in time for 12 fun filled days!

    • ohbriggsy December 14, 2011 at 9:14 AM #

      thanks, friend! and thanks for the encouragement/idea! tell lucy that i said the following: beer on my butt! beer on my butt!

  2. birthrightrose December 14, 2011 at 5:10 AM #

    Agreed! I have also missed you! Where is your harvest? How did the spuds grow? Did you can tons of awesomeness? Don’t forget about us: the proud, the few, the Briggsy fans!!

    • ohbriggsy December 14, 2011 at 9:19 AM #

      thanks a lot! i’ve missed blogging too! i didnt get to post about my harvest, but at least i’ve got lots of ideas for this year’s gardening posts! the spuds grew pretty well, but not as well as i would have hoped. as you may remember, i used the potato towers that i made out of chicken wire. i planted them kinda late (april) and harvested them in october. they are delicious, but we only got maybe about 10-15 pounds. kinda not worth the effort. this year i’m gonna try just planting them in a raised bed. we have a raised bed that is pretty much just a slug hotel, so i’m hoping that it could maybe work for potatoes, because by the time we have leaves, the slugs will be gone with the summer.
      and about canning, i canned much less than last year. i did a ton of refrigerator pickles and lots of alcohol infusions. definitely some things i’ll be posting about this summer!
      thanks for reading and happy holidays!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day One! « oh, briggsy… - December 6, 2012

    […] left as “christmas songs of the day.” #Easy. Or click here for the start of 2010, and here for the start of 2011.  And if you are one my above referenced friendos, nabes or family, and you […]

Leave a Reply

