On the Seventh Day of Christmas…Holiday Road!

19 Dec

OK, friends, it’s a busy day for good old ohbriggsy.  I’m finishing up work (boo!), packing (boo-ish!), going to the post office (not as bad as I thought it would be!), sending off my holiday mix (yay!), and other general end of the year crapola (meh).  You know, like, xmas tree care.

In other words, I gotta hit that holiday road tomorrow and today I’m paying the price for my upcoming vacation.  And  Southwest Airlines is involved, so please send alcohol and coma inducing pharmaceuticals.  You know what’s not a good idea?  Making people armed with soft sided baggage swarm for unassigned seats.  Here will be me, at some unspecified time in the future, central standard time.

Soon I’ll be with my family!  Will it be just a little bit like this?  Well, you’ll just have to ask!

So, yep, I’m hitting that holiday road, but the twelve days of Christmas songs will continue.  I got your (holiday) backs, yos!

There are some great covers of “Holiday Road” though.  Lindsey Buckingham did the original, for 1983’s National Lampoon’s Vacation.

The Aquabats covered it in 2009.

And Matt Pond PA covered it back in 2005 on their holiday EP Winter Songs, which I highly recommend.

So that’s it for me for today!  I gots to go!  Happy one week of following along with me here with the 12 Days of Xmas!  It’s been real! It’s been fun!  It actually has been real fun!

Leave a Reply

