On the Twelfth Day of Christmas…Songs You Never Hear!

24 Dec

It’s Christmas Eve, everybody!  I did something I hadn’t done in years…I went to the mall on xmas eve.  I kinda put off my getting my bro an xmas gift.  Good thing he also needed to do last minute shopping and could drive me and deal with the ladies at Macy’s cologne counter to basically pick out his own gift.  Thanks bro! 

Double S is here!  We had an awesome dinner and cocktails at Taste last night.  Holy crap!  When you’re in the Lou, do check it out.  After you’ve had St. Louis style pizza and hit the Hill first, of course.  Tradition. 

So it’s the 12th and last day of my xmas songs.  I hope you’ve been listening to some good stuff.  I have so much more to share.  But I also have so much dips and chips and smoked turkey and hams to eat.  Beer to drink.  Champagne to pop.  Cookies to snarf. 

Man they play shitty xmas muzak and/or the same old same old in the mall at xmas, right?  Shame!  There’s some great little hidden xmas gems you never hear!

Have you heard any of The Flaming Lips xmas stuff?  Skip their version of “White Christmas,” even I have my limits on weird xmas music.  But do give “Christmas at the Zoo” a listen.

Also, of course, Run DMC’s “Christmas in Hollis” is a hip hop xmas classic.  But have you heard Blondie and Fab Five Freddy’s “Christmas Rapture.”  Bust this out tonight and cut a rug with the fam.

And one more for ya.  You never hear this song, and that’s a shame, because it’s Erasure!  Doing an xmas song!  Here is “She Won’t Be Home (Lonely Christmas).”

Enjoy your xmas eve!

I’ll be back soon with some new years ditties and some end of year wrap ups!

One Response to “On the Twelfth Day of Christmas…Songs You Never Hear!”

  1. Nicole December 24, 2011 at 12:46 PM #

    Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

