12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day 5!

15 Dec

I’m kind of a treehugger.  I mean, I don’t think I’ve ever hugged a tree, per se, but I’ve touched a few cedars longingly.  I mean, shit, they were asking for it with their cool bark.  Have you seen it?  Up close?    It’s like a cable knit sweater!  Trees are awesome.  And, this time of year, we get to have them in our houses!  Score!  I also live by a pretty great produce stand, and this time of year they sell trees.  Walking by it this time of year is like an olfactory rager.

Oh and speaking of trees, here’s today’s Xmas song of the day, “All These Trees” by Passion Pit.

So my tree hugging earthiness wasn’t always the case in my life. I met up with an old friend from law school last year who, after I told her that our hang out schedule would depend on what in my garden needed processing, said that I had changed.  She said that all I did in law school was smoke cigarettes, drink beer, and listen to classic rock.  Ok, so yeah I kinda did.  I’d like to add skirtchasing (feminist skirts!), putting on hilarious law school comedy shows, and eating pizza to that list but it’s pretty accurate.  It was a different time!  I was in my 20s and lived in NYC, man, come on!  Now, I kinda like gardening and hiking along with my beer, and making my own pizza, and I have a feminist skirt at home.  We like hiking.  And yeah, I know the joke. I thought I didn’t like hiking until I realized it was just walking.  But it’s walking amongst the trees and all they bring that I like.  Point is, when you hike, you can see trees.  You can hug them if you want, whatevs.

I saw a lot of trees this year.  Hey, I live in the Pacific Northwest, that’s how we roll.

I saw eagles in trees.

On the Skagit River, January 2012

On the Skagit River, January 2012

I saw owls in trees.

Lincoln Park, West Seattle, February 2012

Lincoln Park, West Seattle, February 2012

I saw snow in the apple tree in my yard.

My crib.  January 2012.

My crib. January 2012.

I saw decaying apples hanging from wintering trees like ornaments in eastern Washington in January.

Tieton, WA.

Tieton, WA.  January 2012.

I saw the apple tree in my yard blossom.

My yard.  April 2012.

My yard. April 2012.

I saw Double S snooze under a tree shaped lantern.

MO Botanical Garden.  June 2012.

MO Botanical Garden. June 2012.

I saw trees surrounding the beautiful blue springs of Missouri.

Missouri.  June 2012.

Missouri. June 2012.

I kayaked amongst the Redwoods on the Russian River.

Russian River, CA.  August 2012.

Russian River, CA. August 2012.

I realized this year that one of the best places to see trees are National Parks.  I’m kind of in love with the national parks system right now.  This year I went to Yosemite with Double S’s fam, hiked at Mt. Rainier and took my family there for the first time and to Olympic National park again cuz they liked it that much the first time. And this winter we’re planning the epic winter trip to Yellowstone.  I’m psyched, yos!

I saw the mighty sequioas at the Mariposa Grove in Yosemite.

Mariposa Grove.  Yosemite NP.  August 2012.

Mariposa Grove. Yosemite NP. August 2012.

I saw tree lined paths at Mt. Rainier.

Spray Park, Mt. Rainier.  September 2012.

Spray Park, Mt. Rainier. September 2012.

I saw mossy giants and nurse logs at Olympic National Park.

Hall of Mosses Trail, Hoh Rainforest, Olympic National Park.  September 2012.

Hall of Mosses Trail, Hoh Rainforest, Olympic National Park. September 2012.

And, finally, I picked apples from the apple tree in my yard.  I could make a reference to the Giving Tree here, but I don’t like the little asshole in that story.

West Seattle.  September 2012.

West Seattle. September 2012.

And, again, we have a tree in our living room.  I love smelling it when I walk in.  After a shitty week, try to have a good weekend, friends.

Passion Pit…All These Trees

Leave a Reply

