12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Six!

18 Dec

So, I hear that there are dog people and there are cat people.  Not me, I always said!  I like both, I said, dismissively.  I grew up with dogs.  I’m sure it would be super easy to get a puppy!  But, I’ve only had cats as an adult.  In other words, when dogs were last a daily part of my life, Reagan was president, Webster was on the teevee and I had a Swatch.  And yes, I had a swatch guard.  What do you think I am, crazy?

swatch+guard

I love having animals, so this year was going to be the year we got a dog.  And we did!

IMG_0158

Why, yes. She is adorable!

Wow, things are different when you have to do all the dog care yourself.  News flash to the nation’s kids who are currently begging for a pup to be under the tree!

So, from 1994 with the acquisition of my first cat Lou, till June 2012, I had only had cats.  Awesome, hilarious, low maintenance cats.  Cats who pounced on predator feet under the covers.  Cats who would go out and then come back in at their leisure.  Cats who would be really into something, then stop as they felt and acted on a sudden urge to groom.  Yeah, they’ll groom whether you like it or not. They don’t care that you have guests over, that butthole won’t groom itself!

Cats whose love of being in bags and boxes know no end!

tumblr_lj06rhTu7k1qi6nobo1_500

Cats who would mysteriously stare at the ceiling when you’re trying to, say, lecture them about their nighttime pouncing, or perhaps sing them that verse of Call me Maybe that you finally learned.

funny-cat-pictures-i-was-grooming-myself-madam-do-you-mind1

Cats are introverts.  So am I.  I understand them.  They like to be around people sometimes, but they also need your ass to get lost so they can recharge their inner batteries.

Not dogs! Hell to the no!  Dogs are crazy, man.  We got our pup Mozy this past June from the awesome Georgia Peaches Rescue and I learned some important life lessons in the differences between cats and dogs.  Dogs are big drooly extroverts, and they will pretty much let you know it on the daily.

Hey, hooman!  Let’s pick produce!

IMG_0526

Hey, hooman!  Let’s go hiking!

IMG_2158

Hey, hooman!  Let’s sit on chaise lounges!

IMG_1527

They want to be with you constantly.  They follow you every time you go into the kitchen.  And then there is the staring.  What is up with the staring?

IMG_0757

This cat makes a nice head rest so I can relax AND keep staring!

Oh and with puppies, as Mozy is, there is the endless, boundless energy.  This is Double S and I playing ball with Mozy.

Also then there are the weird random quirks.  Some wanna chew up everything that isn’t nailed down.  Read what my pal Meg’s dog ate over the years.  Oh, and while you’re at it, read up on our Cookbooks blog challenge for 2013! Join us!

funny-dog-pictures-dog-has-swallowed-tinsel-and-will-now-go-to-the-bathroom-beautifully

Some want to take five minutes circling around trying to find a place to lay on their bed.  The circling has been my constant source of amusement since picking up a new bed for the Mozster a few weeks back.

We take her to the dog park too.  And if you live in Seattle or some other city where people’s weirdness gets to thrive unabated, you’ve met the crazy dog park people, in all their variations.  Ok, so sometimes it takes me a minute to find my dog’s poop to pick up.  Big deal!   And yea, that was me who laughed when those dogs humped.  It was funny!

funny-dog-pictures-little-dog-fails-at-love

And now it’s Christmas.  Christmas with a dog is fun!  You can do stuff like this!

375450_10151388222454665_1104703769_n

Mozy’s first visit with Santa!

And when your pup learns to get along with your cat, and you see them snuggling for the first time?  That kind of cuteness is what it’s all about!

loldogs-cute-puppy-pictures-seecretlvrs

This made me laugh longer than I prolly should have…

So for all you dog lovers out there, here is today’s Xmas song of the day: “Christmas is Going to the Dogs”, by the Eels.

Having a dog and a cat is kinda working for me.   I get the hilarious occasionally snuggly ever mischievous cat and the energetic unconditionally loving stare of a dog.

Happy holidays to you and your animal friends!

998d1229399231-christmas-spirit-lolcat

images

The Eels…Christmas Is Going To The Dogs

4 Responses to “12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Six!”

  1. Lilly Warner (@rakeandmake) December 18, 2012 at 8:18 PM #

    I just discovered your blog through Meg’s blog! Awesome! I want to do your cookbook challenge. Oh and I have a Georgia Peach pup too!

    • ohbriggsy December 20, 2012 at 10:41 PM #

      Hey, Lilly! Thanks for stopping by! We’d love to have you join us for the cookbook challenge. I think it’s going to be really fun and so informative. Stay tuned for much more info. Our first few books are really varied and fun!

  2. growandresist December 19, 2012 at 8:01 PM #

    Holy shit this was funny. The staring. The endless staring. I hadn’t thought about the connection between the staring and me being an introvert…but well, yes…. it is intense.

    And, re:above— Lilly, meet Briggs. Briggs meet Lilly. You 2 would like each other. In fact, we should all hang out. And maybe we can do a cookbook meal sometime!

    • ohbriggsy December 20, 2012 at 10:39 PM #

      Thanks, Meg! I don’t know, dogs are so extroverty sometimes, well at least our dog, that it kind of gets overwhelming. Cats, instead are soothing and comforting and make me wanna snuggle up at home and drink hot beverages. Ok, well not our kitten. Our kitten would bite my hands and pounce on my feet, making me spill my hot bev. And, hey Lilly! Nice to meet you! Yeah, a cookbook get together would be fun!

Leave a Reply

