12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Seven!

19 Dec

Well, it’s just about travel time, friends.  Hopefully all the shit ya hadta do is just about over, and all you have left is shit ya wanna do.  Know what I mean?  Me, I finished work for the holidays.  I sent out the holiday mix to friends and family.  All that’s left is fun stuff like cooking and baking and drinking and chatting and reminiscing.  And traveling.  Boo!  And enjoying the xmas tree.  Yay!  I start to feel a little greedy this time of year, thinking, oh man!  Only a little while longer to enjoy our tree!   Here’s a good one for you guys today: Guster’s “Tiny Tree Christmas.”

We’ve had tiny Christmas trees.  Tiny trees are always exceptionally cute.

Our first tree!  2007.

Our first tree! 2007.

So my getting close to Xmas to-do list is as follows.

1.  Travel to St. Louis.

St+Louis+downtown

2.  Watch Home Alone.

tumblr_lpilvuGlrj1qffj5lo1_500

3.  Watch Planes Trains and Automobiles.

ptapillows-2

4.  Watch It’s A Wonderful Life.

tumblr_m96cy1IlzJ1qaeet6o5_250

5.  Make and eat onion dip.  Yep, traditional, suburban onion dip.  Here’s an artfully shot pictorial of the main ingredient.

Don't hate.  You know you love it.  Always, and I mean ALWAYS, a hit at parties.

Don’t hate. You know you love it. Always, and I mean ALWAYS, a hit at parties.

6.  Make cookies with my mom.

tumblr_m87aoau0Nc1rzjlc4o1_500

7.  Attempt my project: Pimp My Mom’s Cookies.  Stay tuned to see if I get around to that.  (see numbers 2-4).

Remember my love of the foam dome?

Remember my love of the foam dome?

8.  Continue to review and research cookbooks for the big Cookbook Challenge coming in 2013!  Thinking about joining us?  You should be!  It’s gonna be fun!

IMG_0769

9.  Hang out with kittens named after characters from a John Hughes movie not mentioned in numbers 2 or 3.

The ohbriggsy family are big John Candy fans.

The ohbriggsy family are big John Candy fans.

10.  Continue to test and re-test my theory that whiskey is great with both egg nog and hot chocolate.

il_570xN.284667547

How about you, friends?  I do hope it’s beginning to look a lot like lazy time for all of you as well!

Guster…Tiny Tree Christmas

4 Responses to “12 Days of Xmas in ’12! Day Seven!”

  1. Halpin December 19, 2012 at 10:50 AM #

    They showed PT&A on network TV the other night but they cut out the “between two pillows” scene. I was so pissed bc that’s my favorite scene after “train dont run out of Wichita.”

    Can you tell me how you made your homemade fries? Every time I try, even with soaking, they all stick together. Is that just what good fries do? Stick together?

    • ohbriggsy December 20, 2012 at 10:47 PM #

      I can’t believe they cut that scene. That actually makes me angry. Some many good lines in that movie. Good choice with the Wichita line! My brother and I can pretty much conduct entire combos using only P T & A quotes.

      And about the fries, check out an article on the Serious Eats blog by a guy named J. Kenji Lopez-Alt. I learned a lot from his Burger Lab series. He has a very detailed post about his attempts at replicating McDonalds fries. It’s a time intended project, but it turned out the best fries I’ve ever made.

  2. growandresist December 19, 2012 at 7:59 PM #

    Ah, your xmas vacation rules! I want to hang w/ Briggsy in st.louis! Fun!

    • ohbriggsy December 20, 2012 at 10:40 PM #

      That would be so fun to all hang out in Iowa City and then all hang out in St. Louis! We must make it happen!

Leave a Reply

