Cook the Books! Good Fish: Latkes with Caviar!

22 Mar

We’re getting to the end of our foray into the world of fish, friends. I’m in that moment that I’ve hit at the end of every month so far throughout the Cook the Books challenge.  It’s the end of the month and I didn’t make as much as I planned!  The sky is falling!  Ok, it’s actually no big deal to anyone at all ever besides me but I did mean to get around to a lot more than I ended up making thus far this month, mmkay?

IMG_1420

So far, I’ve made Steamers with Beer, Black Cod with Soy Caramel Glaze, and Halibut (I used Pacific Cod) Tacos with Tequila Lime Marinade and Cabbage Slaw. I didn’t tell you about the tacos.  Probably because I was kind of meh about them.  I actually already make my own pretty killer fish tacos that we like quite a bit better than we liked these.  First, mine are made with corn tortillas.  To me, soft flour tortillas for tacos are just wrong.  Corn only, please!  Second, Becky’s slaw recipe turned out pretty good, but not as good as mine, which I make with cabbage, lime juice, toasted cumin seeds, poblano pepper, cilantro, some shredded carrot, and a bit of crema.  I won’t be adding that recipe to the rotation, but I did enjoy learning some different techniques like the tequilla marinade for the fish.

So for my final choices this month, I decided to challenge myself.  The only “caviar” I’ve ever eaten came from a tube from Ikea about ten years ago, so it was prolly horse anus eggs, but what are ya gonna do?  Too soon? It probably looked something like this.  And hey, I guess Abba has fallen on hard times.  Didn’t everyone own a copy of Abba Gold back in college?

534008552_99a742686b_o

Ok, moving on.  So this time, I picked up some caviar at Pike Place Fish Co, which is again the all sustainably fished fish market at Pike Place Market.  I got salmon caviar.

IMG_2960

Then I came home and checked out Good Fish.  Eureka!  I found the prefect recipe.

Potato and Beet Latkes with Horseradish Sour Cream and Caviar, page 227-228.

Why was this recipe perfect?  First, it’s kind of a little bridge to the cookbook I chose for next month, The Mile End Cookbook.  I’m excited about that one, folks.  And second, well, I effing love sour cream and horseradish and beets!  I truly, madly, deeply love sour cream.  It’s in my top 5 foods.  It’s like a food unicorn, its magic makes everything better.  A dollop on your taco?  Yes, please!  Good old-fashioned Lipton onion dip?  Get in my belly!  Would you like some spoonfuls of sour cream and chives on your baked potato?  Bitch, please…of course I would!  How about cheddar and sour cream chips?  Hell yes, and throw in some sour cream and onion chips for good measure!  Can’t live without it, wouldn’t want to try!

i_love_sour_cream_heart_t_shirt_hat-p148508117595567137z8nb8_400

For this recipe, Becky gives you the option to use trout or salmon caviar, and the option to use smoked trout, smoked black cod, smoked char, or salmon.  Now, I live in the Pacific Northwest and I love salmon, so I went with latkes with smoked salmon and salmon caviar.  The smoked salmon we procured from The Seattle Fish Company was so freaking good.  We put extra on all of our latkes.

IMG_1480

The latkes were fairly easy to make, and we ended up loving the flavor combination of shredded beets, carrots, onion, and potatoes.  I used my box grater and some rubber gloves.  I hate beet stains on my hands, yo!

IMG_1476

IMG_1477

After you’ve done your grating, you salt the veggies so they release some water, let them sit for a bit, then squeeze!   Meanwhile, make your horseradish sour cream.  The addition of the horseradish sour cream to these latkes was genius.  Delicious!

I whipped these bad boys up on a Thursday night after work, so that’s an added bonus.  These were pretty quick to make once you have the ingredients.  While I fried up the latkes, Double S got to topping them all fancy like, with the smoked salmon, a dollop of the horseradish sour cream, a few salmon caviar eggs and a sprig of parsley.  These turned out to be beauties!

IMG_1484

IMG_1487

IMG_1488

We both loved this dish, and it was definitely the best thing I’ve made so far from this cookbook.  These latkes would make an impressive and delicious addition to a dinner party.  We even got ultra fancy and drank them with champagne, as Becky suggests.  Thursday night fanciness, yos!

IMG_1489

All of our champagne flutes are fallen soldiers, so we soldiered on and drank our bubbles from regular wine glasses. #bougiepeopleproblems

So the caviar.  It was interesting.  We used the photographs that accompanied this recipe to construct our latkes, so each latke had about 4-6 caviar eggs on it.  The particular salmon caviar we used was distinctive–quite briny and fishy as it popped in your mouth when you bit down on it.  When I got the caviar egg with everything else, the flavor of the dish in its entirety was fantastic. When I got too much caviar and not enough of everything else,  the taste of the caviar was a bit too much.

Ok, so are you guys cooking along with us this month?  If so, hop to it and get us a link to your post by the end of this weekend: send to cookthebookschallenge@gmail.com.  I’ll be introducing next month’s book next week as well.  Also, did you hear from Meg what our next four cookbooks are?  They’re pretty great.  Here they are!

May: Tender: A Cook and His Vegetable Patch, by Nigel Slater.

tender-book

June: Susan Feniger’s Street Food: Irresistibly Crispy, Creamy, Crunchy, Spicy, Sweet Recipes, by Susan Feniger.

SusanFenigerStreetCookbook

July:  Gran Cocina Latina: The Food Of Latin  America, by Maricel Presilla.

584860e

August: Sweet Cream and Sugar Cones: 90 Recipes  For Making Your Own Ice Cream and Frozen Treats From Bi-Rite Creamery, by Kris Hoogerhyde, Anne Walker, and Dabney Gough.

4f8d8e2724d9b.preview-300

I might try to squeeze in one more fish dish this weekend. I also need to get a new smoker like STAT, cuz The Mile End Cook Book is quite a bit about smoked meats.  Lucky me!

5 Responses to “Cook the Books! Good Fish: Latkes with Caviar!”

  1. vanessaporter18 March 27, 2013 at 8:50 PM #

    I’ve been looking through all the seafood you’ve made! It looks SO GREAT! And I’m loving all your photos. Beautiful! I need to get my hands on this Good Fish. I live for seafood. Thank you for the review!

  2. vanessaporter18 March 27, 2013 at 9:09 PM #

    The Simpsons Clip…haha

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cook the Book(s) Review: Good Fish | oh, briggsy... - March 27, 2013

    […] I made the Potato and Beet Latkes with Horseradish Sour Cream and Caviar.  This was our favorite recipe from the book.  The latkes were creative and really flavorful, […]

  2. March Cook the Books! Roasted Halibut and Wrap-Up! | Grow & Resist - March 28, 2013

    […] Cod with Soy Caramel Sauce, Halibut Tacos with Tequila Lime Marinade and Red Cabbage Slaw, and Potato and Beet Latkes with Horseradish Sour Cream and Caviar.  Briggs gave her overall Good Fish review that you can read here. Briggs will also be introducing […]

  3. Cook the Books April! (Impromptu) Dinner Party! | oh, briggsy... - April 26, 2013

    […] turn out? Pretty damn good, actually! Let’s start win the latkes. Ok, yeah, I made latkes last month too. We have a lot of potatoes from that January surprise potato harvest, mmkay? I gotta use that […]

Leave a Reply

